The OEI wins the ERIN contracts for the return of Latin Americans to their home countries

The OEI renews its collaboration with the European Reintegration Network
16 October, 2017

The OEI (Organization of Ibero-American States) has won the three service contracts requested by the European Reintegration Network (ERIN) to provide assistance for the return and reintegration of Latin Americans to their countries of origin. ERIN has prioritized the three countries in the region –Argentina, Brazil and Paraguay– that currently have the highest numbers of nationals living in European territory. ERIN offers return assistance combined with comprehensive reintegration support. As the organization selected to provide these services in the contract’s three Latin American countries, the OEI becomes the leading channel for the reintegration of returnees from any of the ERIN’s 18 European partner countries. These services include delivering assistance in the form of information, counselling, referral to resources and reintegration to returnees to respond to their needs once back in their home countries. One of the key factors for OEI’s selection has been the fact that it has a wide network of resources in each country that links returnees to sustainable return and reintegration, as evidenced in the return projects carried out by the OEI since 2012. The ultimate goal is to facilitate and promote the process of “homecoming” and reintegration from a multidimensional point of view where education and training for employment (or retraining) are key. The OEI will implement these services in Argentina, Brazil and Paraguay from November 2016 until July 2017, with the possibility of extending the contract for another year.

The beneficiaries are third-country nationals who meet a range of conditions established in a number of European directives: Directive 2011/95/EU; Directive 2001/55/EC; Directive 2008/115/EC.

Including the return of nationals of other Latin American countries in the program is expected in the future.

ERIN is a comprehensive return and reintegration project funded by the European Union’s Asylum, Migration and Integration Fund (AMIF) and national public funds from the 18 participating countries (Austria, Australia, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom). The countries in this network are represented by the relevant institutions on immigration issues that each country designates.